The Fijian Parliament dates back to 10 October 1970 when Fiji became independent from the UK, replacing the colonial Legislative Council. The 1970 Constitution allowed the Legislative Council to be renamed as the House of Representatives until the first post-independence elections in 1972. The Parliament is located within the Government Buildings complex in Suva, the same building where the first Parliament sat after independence and continued until 1987. From 1992 until a political upheaval in 2006, Parliament met in a stand-alone complex in Veiuto. With the return to parliamentary democracy in 2014, it resumed meeting at the Government Buildings.

The centerpiece of the Parliament building is the Parliament Chamber, featuring a U-shaped seating arrangement, the Speaker's Chair, and the central table where the Mace is placed during sessions. The Mace, carried by the Mace Bearer into the chamber, symbolizes the Speaker's authority and is placed on the central table at the start of each day's proceedings and removed at the end to signify the close of parliamentary business for the day

## Accessibility

Accessible by car, public transportation, taxi, or ride-sharing.